On June 1 2015, the Synchrotron and Neutron Workshop (SYNEW) was held in the Beatrix Theater-Jaarbeurs in Utrecht. SYNEW 2015 brought together Dutch and Belgian users of synchrotron, neutron-, and free-electron-laser facilities and provided a forum to exchange scientific ideas, discuss participation in large facilities, and reflect on the needs of frequently employed experimental stations & beamlines.

On this occasion SYNEW also celebrated 15 years and 1,000 publications of the Dutch-Belgian beamline (DUBBLE) at the European Synchrotron, ESRF

Invited speakers

Tony Ryan (Sheffield, UK) 
Carlo Lamberti (Turin, Italy) 
Serena de Beer (Mülheim, Germany) 
Thomas Barends (Heidelberg, Germany) 
Jayne Lawrence (London, UK) 
Ekkes Brück (Delft, NL) 
Jos Oomens (Nijmegen, NL) 
Cedric Gommes (Liege, Belgium) 
Alexei Kimel (Nijmegen, NL)

Satellite Workshops

The meeting on June 1 was followed by three full-day parallel workshops on June 2. 

Topics of Satellite Workshops 

  • Small-Angle Scattering

    June 2, 2015, Utrecht University

    The use of Small Angle Scattering (SAS) techniques has seen an increase in recent years and in order to broaden the knowledge base of these methods a 1-day course is organised in which different aspects of materials science, biology and a variety of other subjects will be treated.


    • Luigi Balzano (DSM)
    • Adam Round (ESRF)
    • Otto Glatter (Graz)
    • Giuseppe Portale (DUBBLE)
    • Wim Bras (DUBBLE)
    • Niels van Dijk (Delft)
    • Wim Bouwman (Delft) 

    Tentative Programme

    9.00-9.45    Introduction SAS and SAS on polymers, Luigi Balzano (DSM)
    9.45-10.30  Solution scattering, Adam Round (ESRF)
    10.30-11.00 Coffee
    11.00-11.45 Data analysis, Otto Glatter (Graz university)
    11.45-12.30 Grazing incidence, Guiseppe Portale (ESRF)
    12.30-13.30 Lunch
    13.30-14.15 Technique combination and sample environment, Wim Bras (ESRF)
    14.15-15.00 Hard matter, Niels van Dijk (TUD)
    15.00-15.30 Coffee
    15.30-15.40 How and where to get beam time? Wim Bras (ESRF)
    15.40-16.25 SESANS, Wim Bouwman (TUD)
    16.25             Drinks

    Small Angle Scattering techniques find a wide application throughout both, fundamental as well as applied research. Apart from several available laboratory SAXS instruments the Dutch-Belgian research community has also access to several instruments in large scale facilities. These cover the DUBBLE SAXS beam line at the ESRF as well as to the ESRF public SAXS beam lines for SAXS (ID02) and the dedicated protein solution scattering beam line.

    Complementary are the SANS instruments at the Institute Laue-Langevin (for Belgian researchers), the SESANS (and the SANS under construction) at the Delft reactor Institute, the SANS instruments accessible through European programmes as well as the future beam lines at the ESS.

    The use of SAS techniques has seen an increase in recent years and in order to broaden the knowledge base of these methods a 1-day course is organised in which different aspects of materials science, biology and a variety of other  subjects will be treated. In 2012 a successful SAS-school was held at the Technical University of Delft  Within a month after opening the registration the limited number of 40 applicants was reached. Therefor a second course is organised as a satellite of the SyNeW. This SAS-school is aimed at both the laboratory source as well as the central facility user. This course is specifically aimed at students and postdocs in the Dutch-Belgian research community with an emphasis on material science.

  • X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy 

    June 2, 2015, Utrecht University

    Programme of the workshop X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy.


    • Martin Feiters (Nijmegen)
    • Florian Meirer (Utrecht)
    • Frank de Groot (Utrecht)
    • Alessandro Longo (DUBBLE)
    • Dipanjan Banerjee (DUBBLE) 


    9.00        Martin Feiters (RU) - Introduction to EXAFS
    9.45        Frank de Groot (UU) – Introduction to XANES
    10.30      Coffee Break
    11.00       Dipanjan Banerjee (DUBBLE-ESRF) - Instrumentation
    11.45       Alessandro Longo (DUBBLE-ESRF) - Data analysis
    12.30       Lunch Break
    13.30       Martin Feiters (RU) - Coordination Chemistry and Trace Element Biology
    14.15       Florian Meirer (UU) – Operando X-ray microspectrometry
    15.00       Coffee Break
    15.30       Frank de Groot (UU) – The future of x-ray spectroscopy
    16.15       Drinks

  • X-ray Techniques in Biology 

    The one-day workshop will introduce PhD students and post-docs in the Dutch-Belgium research community to the capablities and perspectives of new methods and application to structural studies of e.g. membrane proteins.


    • Adam Round (ESRF)
    • Tassos Perrakis (NKI)
    • Cornelius Gati (CFEL)
    • Loes Kroon-Batenburg (Utrecht)
    • Albert Guskov (Groningen)
    • Arjen Jakobi (Hamburg)
    • Thomas Barends (Heidelberg) 


    9.00-9.45   Tassos Perrakis (NKI Amsterdam) - Microfocus beamlines for macromolecular crystallography: from μicro towards nano
    9.45-10.30  Cornelius Gati (CFEL Hamburg) - Serial Femtosecond Crystallography of G-Protein Coupled Receptors
    10.30-11.00 Coffee
    11.00-11.45 Albert Guskov (RUG Groningen) - SFX on membrane transporters
    11.45-12.30 Loes Kroon-Batenburg (UU Utrecht) - Estimating partialities in serial crystallography with EVAL
    12.30-13.30 Lunch
    13.30-14.15 Arjen Jakobi (EMBL Hamburg) -  In cellulo crystallisation and X-ray diffraction with yeast peroxisomes
    14.15-15.00 Thomas Barends (MPI Heidelberg) - De Novo Phasing with XFEL Data
    15.00-15.30 Coffee
    15.30-16.15 Adam Round (ESRF Grenoble) - Small angle scattering of biological macromolecules in solution (BioSAS): What can be done and how to do it.
    16.15 drinks


The SyNeW series of meetings

SyNeW 2015 was funded by the Dutch Research Council (NWO) and was the latest in a bi-annual (approximately) series of workshops that have brought together the Dutch and Belgian users of synchrotron and neutron facilities 

Organizing Committee SyNeW 2015

Andrei Petukhov (Utrecht, Chair), Martin Feiters (Nijmegen), Florian Meirer (Utrecht), Frank de Groot (Utrecht), Piet Gros (Utrecht), Wim Bouwman (Delft), Wim Bras (DUBBLE). 

Scientific Advisory Committee

Martin Feiters (Nijmegen, Chair), Wim Bras (DUBBLE), Koen Janssens (Antwerp), Bart Goderis (Leuven), Jacques Ghijsen (Namen), Bert Weckhuysen (Utrecht), Katia Pappas (Delft), Renko de Vries (Wageningen), Hans Hilgenkamp (Twente), Thom Palstra (Groningen), Britta Redlich (Nijmegen), Nico Sommerdijk (Eindhoven), Joke Bouwstra (Leiden), Mark Golden (Amsterdam), Kees de Kruif (Utrecht), Tassos Perrakis (Netherlands Cancer Institute)