Banner WOTRO Science for Global Development

WOTRO Science for Global Development

As a cross-domain initiative within NWO, WOTRO Science for Global Development programmes, finances and facilitates research for inclusive global development. The WOTRO research programmes are aimed at providing knowledge and skills that contribute to sustainable solutions for social and ecological problems in low and middle-income countries (LMICs).

  • Strategy

    The objectives of WOTRO are:

    • generating, disseminating and utilising high-quality knowledge
    • increasing knowledge synergy for development
    • strengthening research capacity in developing countries.

    WOTRO aims for these objectives by developing research programmes and activities together with national and international stakeholders from within and outside the scientific community. These stakeholders include researchers, policy makers, development workers and the private sector.

    WOTRO is working on an alternative approach to research for SDG- and climate-compliant development in lower- and middle-income countries (LMICs). This approach is outlined in this paper (in Dutch). An English language two-pager is also available.

  • International cooperation

    WOTRO supports forming platforms and networks for international development and research into development cooperation. These platforms and networks contribute to the sharing, utilisation and expansion of knowledge by bridging the gap between science, policy and practice.

    WOTRO makes international collaboration possible in a broad context. This gives researchers from developing countries better access to funds, and the work of different research funders can be better coordinated.

  • Research Impact

    WOTRO aims to support researchers in increasing the impact of their research projects, on all levels but in particular on the level of societal impact and policy influence.

    What is impact?

    Societal impact of research is understood as the cultural, economic, industrial, ecological or social changes that are entirely or in part the consequence of knowledge and expertise generated by research.

    Approaches, tools and methods to achieve impact

    NWO has an integrated strategy in which productive interactions in research are promoted by using the Theory of Change and Impact Pathways.

    And also take a look at some WOTRO communication examples! Or check out the NWO developments on research for impact that are used for e.g. the Impact Plan Approach.

  • Organisation

    WOTRO is managed by an autonomous steering committee, which is mandated by the NWO Executive Board. The steering committee is responsible for research programmes from all scientific disciplines in the field of (SDGs for) inclusive global development as well as the Merian Fund programmes. Portfolio manager of WOTRO within the Executive Board of NWO is Prof. Anita Hardon.

    The members of the Steering Committee are:

    • Prof. dr. Annelies Zoomers (chair), Utrecht University
    • Prof. dr. Maarten van Aalst, University of Twente
    • Prof. dr. ir. Merle de Kreuk, TU Delft
    • Prof. dr. Robert Lensink, University of Groningen
    • Prof. dr. Valentina Mazzucato, Maastricht University
    • Prof. dr. Bartel van de Walle, United Nations University - MERIT and Maastricht University
    • Prof. dr. Maria Yazdanbakhsh, Leiden University

    The WOTRO office is responsible for the day-to-day management of the activities of WOTRO Science for Global Development and for the Merian Fund.

  • Contact

    WOTRO Science for Global Development

    T: +31 70 344 09 63
    E: wotro@nwo.nl

    Visiting address
    Laan van Nieuw Oost-Indië 300 (Java Building) 2593 CE The Hague, The Netherlands
    Route

    Postal address
    PO Box 93461, 2509 AC The Hague, The Netherlands

    For suppliers:

    • KvK 27367015
    • WOTRO invoice number: LB575700-11

    Team lead

    Dr Eric Beerkens
    T: +31 70 349 41 09
    E: e.beerkens@nwo.nl

    Policy officers

    Dr Monika Brasser

    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 349 45 03
    E: m.brasser@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Food & Business Global Challenges Programme; LEAP-Agri, CGIAR-NL, Merian

    Han van Dijk MSc
    Research Uptake Manager
    T: +31 70 344 09 45
    E: h.vandijk@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Urbanising Deltas of the World (UDW); Research Uptake, SURe

    Petra Griffioen MSc
    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 344 09 76
    E: p.griffioen@nwo.nlContact for: Merian Fund, NL-CGIAR partnership, Impact & Innovation Grants

    Dr Nadine Herold
    Policy Officer
    T: + 31 70 344 0910
    E: n.herold@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Joint SDG Initiative, SDG Interactions & Policy Interventions (NWA)

    Rachel Kelders MSc
    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 349 4085
    E: r.kelders@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR); Urbanising Deltas of the World (UDW)

    Corinne Lamain
    Senior Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 344 09 24
    E: c.lamain@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Food & Business Research

    Marije Severs MSc
    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 349 43 51
    E: m.severs@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Food & Business Research

    Maaike Spiekerman MA
    Junior Policy Officer
    T: + 31 70 349 40 94
    E: m.spiekerman@nwo.nl
    Contact for:Merian Fund; Cooperation Indonesia-The Netherlands

    Dr Gerrie Tuitert
    Senior Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 344 07 05
    E: g.tuitert@nwo.nl
    Contact for: PopDev; Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR); ERAfrica; International partnerships

    Jelte Verberne
    Junior Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 349 41 48
    E: j.verberne@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Security and Rule of Law (SRoL), Supporting the Political Role of Civil Society Organisations for Inclusive Development (Assumptions)

    Jacomijn Verbruggen - Zoutewelle MSc
    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 344 09 72
    E: j.zoutewelle@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR); Prince Claus Chair, Merian Fund, Cooperation South Africa – The Netherlands

    Maria Verschoor MSc
    Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 344 0646
    E: m.verschoor@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Research for Inclusive Development in Sub-Saharan Africa (RIDSSA); Security and Rule of Law (SRoL); Information and knowledge management

    Dr Martijn Wienia
    Senior Policy Officer
    T: +31 70 349 4352
    E: m.wienia@nwo.nl
    Contact for: Integrated Programmes; Global Health Policy and Health Systems; MFS II Evaluations

    Project administration

    Helena Gilkes - Arrindell
    T: +31 70 344 09 62
    E: h.gilkes@nwo.nl

    Jiske den Hollander
    T: +31 70 344 07 68
    E: j.denhollander@nwo.nl

    Ms Ellen Rijkschroeff
    T: +31 70 344 0974
    E: e.rijkschroeff@nwo.nl

    Archive

    Nathalie Nieuwveld - Meijer
    T: +31 70 344 09 51
    E: n.nieuwveld@nwo.nl

    Secretariat

    Josianne Winklaar
    T: +31 70 349 40 97
    E: j.winklaar@nwo.nl

    Communications

    Tessa Knaake
    T: +31 6 51243151
    T.knaake@nwo.nl

    Marjolie Mankoto
    T: +31 70 349 43 68
    m.mankoto@nwo.nl