Jan de Boer new member of Executive Board Dutch Research Council

13 July 2020

The Minister of Education, Culture and Science has appointed Jan de Boer as a member of the Executive Board of the Dutch Research Council (NWO). He will also become the new chair of NWO’s Science domain, effective 1 September 2020.

Photo Jan de Boer

Jan de Boer is professor of theoretical physics at the University of Amsterdam. He took his PhD at Utrecht University in 1993 and subsequently worked as a postdoc in the United States. Following this period, he returned to the Netherlands and has been working at the University of Amsterdam ever since. He has been involved in various broad research initiatives such as GRAPPA, Delta ITP and DIEP. Jan de Boer also helped to set up NWO’s Science domain and became a member of this domain’s board after the transition.

Changes in the Executive Board

Jan de Boer will succeed Niek Lopes Cardozo, the current chair of the domain, after he steps down on 1 September. The recruitment process for a successor to NWO’s chair, Stan Gielen, is currently underway as well. Margot Weijnen and Anita Hardon also joined the Executive Board this year (on 1 March 2020 and 1 June 2020, respectively). Jeroen Geurts will remain a member of the Executive Board (appointed for a second term until 1 January 2023), as will Caroline Visser.

Source: NWO