Bartel Van de Walle new member of WOTRO Steering Committee

29 October 2019

The NWO Executive board has appointed Prof. Bartel Van de Walle as member of the Steering Committee of WOTRO Science for Global Development. WOTRO is very pleased to welcome Van de Walle, also because of his efforts to take science beyond the university walls and into society. He succeeds dr Jennifer Kockx, whom WOTRO thanks for her energetic participation in the Steering Committee.

Picture: courtesy of TU Delft

Van de Walle holds the chair of Policy Analysis as a Full Professor at the Faculty of Technology, Policy and Management at Delft University of Technology. He currently serves as Head of Department for the Multi Actor Systems department and is a board member of the TU Delft Global initiative. Prior to joining TU Delft, he was an associate professor at Tilburg University. He received his MSc and PhD in Applied Mathematics and Computer Science from Ghent University in Belgium.

Van de Walle’s research interests have lead him to work for various national, European or UN funded research projects in e.g. Africa and the Middle East, as well as in several universities and research labs in Europe, China and the USA. His (research) experiences in these countries, especially China in view of the Merian Fund, will be very valuable for the WOTRO Steering Committee. But the other committee members and WOTRO also look forward to working together because of his entrepreneurship and tendency to push ahead quickly, and his ability to get people with very different backgrounds to work together on a shared vision.

The WOTRO Steering Committee

NWO-WOTRO Science for Global Development is governed by an autonomous Steering Committee, mandated by the NWO Executive Board. The Steering Committee is responsible for NWO-WOTRO's strategy and policy, as well as for the Merian Fund.

Composition of the Steering Committee as of 2 October 2019:

  • Prof. Annelies Zoomers (chair) , Utrecht University
  • Prof. Yola Georgiadou, Twente University
  • Prof. Petra Hellegers, Wageningen University & Research
  • Prof. Robert Lensink, University of Groningen
  • Prof. Valentina Mazzucato, Maastricht University
  • Prof. Maria Yazdanbakhsh, Leiden University
  • Prof. Bartel Van de Walle, TU Delft

Source: NWO