2019 Dutch prize for ICT research open for nominations

29 June 2018

The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek, NWO) and the ICT Research Platform Netherlands (IPN), in collaboration with the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen, KHMW), invite Computer Science professors to nominate talented researchers aged under 40 for the 2019 ICT Prize. The deadline for submissions is 1 October 2018.

Nominations should be submitted to the Science Secretary of the KHMW, Professor A.P. IJzerman. The conditions for submission of a nomination are given below , and also can be found on the KHMW website.

On the Netherlands Prize for ICT Research

The Netherlands Prize for ICT Research (Nederlandse Prijs voor ICT Onderzoek) was first awarded in 2011 by IPN and NWO, in collaboration with KHMW. The prize is awarded annually. It is awarded to a scientific researcher, not older than 40 on 31 December 2018, who is responsible for innovative research or for a scientific breakthrough in ICT. It is a tribute to their work, in addition to promoting the field of ICT as a whole. The prize consists of €50,000, which can be freely spent to ICT research, a certificate and a sculpture. The prize will be awarded at ICT.OPEN 2019 , which will take place on 19 and 20 March 2019.

Previous winners of the Netherlands Prize for ICT Research are:

  • Prof. Bettina Speckmann – Eindhoven University of Technology (2011)
  • Dr Cees Snoek – University of Amsterdam (2012)
  • Prof. Marieke Huisman – University of Twente (2013)
  • Dr Birna van Riemsdijk – Delft University of Technology (2015) 
  • Prof. Alexandru Iosup – Delft University of Technology / Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (2016)
  • Dr. Peter Schwabe – University of Nijmegen (2017)
  • Prof. Joost Batenburg –(CWI) / Leiden University

Source: NWO