NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences's first annual congress, TEKNOWLOGY, took place on 9 November, 2017 at the Rijtuigenloods in Amersfoort.

TEKNOWLOGY is the Dutch festival where technology, science, innovation and valorisation meet. On November 9th, NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences (AES) showed the visitor the technical innovations of the future and how Dutch science is prepared for it. The programme offered many (international) speakers, lectures and workshops, as well as an innovation parade with inspiring examples from the applied research of AES.

Read the review of TEKNOWLOGY 2017 (in Dutch).


Watch the video of TEKNOWLOGY 2017 (YouTube)


In the competition “Open Mind” the best original research ideas with societal impact were rewarded. Special attention was paid to Andrew Webb, who received the Simon Stevin Meester Prize worth 500,000 euros. The chair of the day was Vivianne Bendermacher. Read more about the overview of all awards at TEKNOWLOGY (in Dutch only).


09:30 hrs

opening demo market
opening NWO booth

10:00 hrs                   

Prof.dr.ir. Jaap Schouten, Chair NWO Domain AES
Dr.ir. Herry Nijhuis, Director NWO Domain AES

10:10 hrs                   
Keynote prof.dr. Nick Ramsey (UMC Utrecht)

Breaking Barriers, connecting Brains to Machines
plenary session

11:00 hrs                   
Open Mind contest - Surprising Research Ideas with Impact

by invitation only, a local live stream is available

11:00 hrs                   

  • Optimizing sleep in elite athletes – From theory to evidence-based intervention - Arne Nieuwenhuys and Melanie Knufinke
  • Autonomous Driving - Julian Kooij and Sjoerd van der Zwaan
  • Communicating Science in the real world - Julia Cramer
  • More in-time ambulance arrivals by applying mathematical models in the dispatch center - Martin van Buuren

 11:00 hrs                 
Workshops for young researchers

  • What a personality! - Mark van der Zwan
  • How to TEDx - Paulien Weikamp

The workshops for young researchers are presented by ElroyCOM Training.

12:10 hrs            
Simon Stevin Gezel 2017 contest

Nynke van den Berg (Leids Universitair Medisch Centrum)
Floris van den Brink (Universiteit Twente)
Bart Macco (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven)

12.30 hrs              
Lunch & demo market

VIP-lunch voor young researchers (by invitation only)

13.30 hrs                
Results of the Simon Stevin Gezel contest

13.35 hrs              
Simon Stevin Meester 2017 - prof.dr. Andrew Webb (LUMC)

Award Ceremony and keynote lecture

14.30 hrs             

  • Communicating science in the real world - Julia Cramer
  • Really cool prospects? What should urban water bodies of the future look like? - Sanda Lenzholzer and João Cortesão
  • Energy and LED lighting in horticulture - Leo Marcelis, Rachel Schipper and Celine Nicole
  • Technology is for everyone - Rolf Hut
  • Urban mining - Jaap Vandehoek

14.30 hrs               
Workshops for young researchers

  • What a personality! - Mark van der Zwan
  • Effective networking - Paulien Weikamp

The workshops for young researchers are presented by ElroyCOM Training.

15.30 hrs             
Open Mind Award Ceremony

5 winning Surprising Research Ideas with Impact 

16.00 hrs             
Keynote Yuri van Geest (Singularity University)

plenary session

17.00 hrs             
Closing ceremony and drinks

demo market

Simon Stevin Gezel

Visitors of TEKNOWLOGY voted for their favourite nominee for the Simon Stevin Gezel 2017 title. The nominees obtained their doctorate during the past year in research projects funded by AES. The nominees were Nynke van den Berg, Floris van den Brink and Bart Macco. The three PhD candidates excel in their field of study and work actively and successfully to apply their research results. The winner was announced at TEKNOWLOGY: Floris van den Brink.