Physics@Veldhoven Programme

Complete programme

The full programme of Physics@Veldhoven 2018 is available here.

Plenary programme 2018

This year, the Tuesday evening lecture will be given by Julia M. Yeomans. The other plenary speakers are Hari Manoharan and Johanna Stachel. A short biography of these speakers is given below.

Julia Yeomans (University of Oxford)

Julia Yeomans is a Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford and Pauline Chan Fellow at St Hilda’s College. Her research is in theoretical and computational physics, particularly statistical physics, soft condensed matter and biophysics. Among her current interests are active systems, liquid crystals and the interactions of fluids with structured surfaces. She is a recipient of the P-G. de Gennes Lecture Prize and a Fellow of the Royal Society.

Hari Manoharan (Stanford University)

Hari Manoharan is Associate Professor of Physics at Stanford University. He combines condensed matter physics, nanoscale science and technology, and atom manipulation to address questions like “What new science and technologies lurk at the smallest scales of condensed matter? And “How does physics change in lower dimensions?“. He focusses on ultra-high resolution quantum imaging and probes of electronic systems and also specializes in the science of atomic and molecular manipulation for atom-by-atom assembly of exotic nanostructures and artificial materials.

Johanna Stachel (Universität Heidelberg)

Johanna Stachel is Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Heidelberg and member of the Directorate of the Physikalische Institut.
She has worked in nuclear structure physics, then in intermediate energy heavy ion physics and she is part of the high energy heavy ion physics community studying the quark-gluon plasma since 1987. She has worked on high energy heavy ion phenomenology and has much cited publications in the area of hadronization of the quark-gluon plasma and on charmonia as probe of deconfinement.

Physics@Veldhoven 2018 aankondiging

Team Veldhoven

Team Veldhoven consist this year of Marcel Hoek, Varsha Kapoerchan, Margit de Kok, Martine van Harderwijk and Mirjam van Ooijen.