Physics@Veldhoven Call for abstracts

Call for abstracts

Abstracts for oral presentations for the parallel sessions or for poster presentations can now be submitted here until Friday 7 September 2018, 12.00 hrs (noon). Please consider the guidelines below carefully before submitting your abstract(s).Abstracts have to be submitted by the first author. The length of the abstract should not exceed 1000 characters (incl. spaces) and the title should not exceed 100 characters (incl. spaces).

The abstract text will not be printed in a book, but will be available both online through the website and through the conference app. The abstract submission tool allows the inclusion of a hyperlink.

The focal point of the parallel and poster sessions is the presentation of the work of young researchers. Preference will be given to abstracts by postdocs and PhD candidates. As participation cannot be guaranteed for MSc and BSc students, MSc and BSc students are not allowed to submit an abstract for an oral or poster presentation.

Parallel session presentations

The programme accommodates about 150 parallel session presentations. Both academic researchers and researchers from the private sector are eligible. A presentation should be attractive for a more or less specialised public (about 125 persons) and have a duration of 12 minutes.

Prioritising oral presentations

We ask the submitting author to also indicate the P.I. for the work to be presented. If more than one abstract for an oral presentation is submitted by researchers with the same P.I., we shall email this P.I. with the request to submit a priority form. On this form the P.I. can indicate which abstract(s) should have priority.

Important notice

Please note that if your oral presentation is not selected, it will not be converted into a poster presentation. It is not allowed to submit similar abstracts for an oral and a poster presentation.

Posters sessions

The programme accommodates about 380 posters. The programme committee wants to prevent making a selection in the abstracts submitted for poster presentations. Therefore we ask you to adhere to these guidelines when submitting abstracts for poster presentations:

  • every group* is allowed to present at least 1 poster;
  • every group* is allowed to present a maximum number of posters. This maximum is fixed on half of the total number of PhD's and postdocs in the group*. For example, if you have a total number of 8 PhD's and postdocs in your group, your group is allowed to present a maximum of 4 posters.  

If the number of submitted posters does exceed the number of available slots, the programme committee will make a selection based on the submissions per theme and also taking into account the programme of the parallel sessions.
(* a group consists of all PhD’s and postdocs under the same P.I.).


The programme committee has chosen the following themes for the parallel- and poster sessions:

  1. Light and matter
  2. Atomic, molecular and optical physics
  3. Nanoscience and nanotechnology
  4. Statistical physics and Soft condensed matter
  5. Surfaces and interfaces
  6. Physics of fluids
  7. Subatomic physics
  8. Plasma and fusion physics
  9. Strongly correlated systems


The abstract deadline is Friday 7 September 2018, 12.00 hrs (noon).


Please note that submission of an abstract DOES NOT imply registration for the conference. Registration opens later in the year. Please check our website for updates about registration and other conference matters.


Please contact NWO through or by phone at +31 (0)30 600 12 17, if you have any questions or problems with the submission.

Physics@Veldhoven 2019 aankondiging

Team Veldhoven

Team Veldhoven this year consists of Ammeret Rossouw, Marcel Hoek, Mirjam van Ooijen, Renée Calon, Margit de Kok and Martine van Harderwijk.