Programme DutchBiophysics 2017

We are pleased to introduce to you the speakers of DutchBiophysics 2017.

You can now find the full programme including abstracts here.

Keynote speaker

  • Daniel Müller (ETHZ)
    Daniel Müller is Chair of Biophysics at the ETH Zürich Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering located in Basel. Together with his team he develops and applies bionanotechnological tools to quantify and control biological processes from the cellular to the molecular scale. The Biophysics laboratory expertise is highly interdisciplinary and combines molecular and cell biology, biophysics, engineering and nanotechnology.

International speakers

  • Pere Rosa-Cusachs (IBEC)
    Pere Roca-Cusachs is Group Leader at  the Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia, and assistant professor at the University of Barcelona. He is also an EMBO young investigator. His research focuses on unraveling the physical and molecular mechanisms by which cells detect and respond to mechanical force.
  • Lene Oddershede (Niels Bohr Institute)
    Lene Oddershede is a Professor of Experimental Biophysics at the Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen. Also, she is Centerleader of the StemPhys Danish National Research Foundation Center of Excellence, joining forces of physics and stem cell biology, and PI of the LANTERN collaboration, a Novo Nordisk Foundation Synergy Center. Professor Oddershede is an expert on optical manipulation of bio-materials and her research focuses on biophotonics and cellular biophysics. Currently, she aims to understand how physical force may be involved in controlling cell differentiation, migration, and in organ development.
  • Sam Reck-Peterson (UC San Diego)
    Samara Reck-Peterson is a Professor in the Cellular and Molecular Medicine Department and the Division of Biology, Section in Cell and Developmental Biology at UC San Diego. She is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute-Simons Faculty Scholar. The Reck-Peterson lab uses biophysical, biochemical, proteomic and genetic methods to answer the following broad questions about transport. How does the dynein motor work and how is it regulated? What are the rules governing transport in cells? A long-term interest of the lab is to understand why defects in transport cause neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative diseases in humans.
  • Henrik Jönsson (University of Cambridge, Lund University)
    Henrik Jönsson is professor of Computational morphodynamics and associate director at SLCU, the Sainsbury Laboratory of the University of Cambridge. The focus of the Jönsson research group is to develop computational morphodynamics models at the cellular level describing multicellular tissues such as the shoot apical meristem.

National speakers

  • Cristina Paulino University of Groningen
    Cristina Paulino is assistant Professor in high-resolution cryo Electron Microscopy at the University of Groningen where she is building up her own cryo-EM lab. Her main research interest is focussed on elucidating the structure-function relationships that explain the transport mechanism of membrane transporters and channels.
  • Greg Stephens (VU Amsterdam)
    Greg Stephens is associate professor of Theoretical Physics of Complex Systems at VU Amsterdam. His group combines theoretical and experimental approaches to explore to a diverse set of systems ranging from the motion of small organisms to the dynamics of human cognition.
  • Chirlmin Joo (Delft University of Technology)
    Chirlmin Joo is Associate Professor at the Department of BioNanoScience at Delft University of Technology. Using cutting-edge single-molecule fluorescence tools, his group investigates how small RNA and DNA mediate gene silencing (RNA interference) and anti-viral defense (CRISPR immunity and DNA interference). His group applies the mechanistic understanding to genome editing. His group also develops single-molecule protein sequencing techniques for advanced proteomic analysis.
DutchBiophysics 2017


The practical organization is in the hands of Dorien Kool and Renée Calon of NWO in Utrecht.