Applied Computational Sciences (ACOS) symposium 2020


The Dutch Research Council NWO, the Center for Computational Energy Research (CCER) and Shell are joining forces to initiate an annual Applied Computational Science (ACOS) symposium. The goal of this annual symposium is to bring together the Dutch research community, both academic and industrial researchers, in applied computational science. The symposium is intended for all scientists developing and using computational methods to contribute to solving industrial and societal challenges, and is aimed at sharing and discussing developments in the field whilst building an enduring community of practice of Dutch applied computational science researchers.

ACOS2020 Theme: Machine Learning - from big data to multiscale modeling.

Machine Learning (ML) is increasingly used by scientists. This includes the discovery of patterns and hidden relationships in scientific data. Less obvious perhaps is the use of ML in creating ultrafast digital twins (surrogate models) and more efficient multiscale models. Regardless the precise area, a comparison between ML methods and established (often domain-specific) methods can help to distinguish hype from reality. We therefore welcome contributions from both ends of the spectrum.

The symposium takes place on 28 October 2020 at DIFFER, Eindhoven. We are looking forward to welcome and inspire you at ACOS 2020!

ACOS 2019

Deadlines and registration

Abstract submission and registration are currently closed.

  • Abstract submission: Thursday 17 September 2020 - 1.00 pm CEST.
  • Registration: Thursday 15 October 2020 - 1.00 pm CEST. 

Scientific Committee

The scientific committee is formed by:
Prof. Peter Bobbert – CCER / Eindhoven University of Technology
Dr. Süleyman Er - DIFFER
Dr. Laura Filion - Utrecht University
Prof. Vianney Koelman – CCER / Eindhoven University of Technology
Dr. Linn Leppart - University of Twente / University of Bayreuth
Prof. Johan Mentink - Radboud University
Prof. Shuxia Tao - DIFFER
Prof. Federico Toschi - Eindhoven University of Technology
Prof. Thijs Vlugt - Delft University of Technology


ACOS2020 attendance is free of charge. However, registration is required. If you have registered but are unable to attend, please inform us at at least two days prior to the symposium. Otherwise, a no-show fee of 50€ will be charged.


ACOS20 takes place at the Dutch Institute for Fundamental Energy Research (DIFFER) in Eindhoven, the Netherlands.
Address: De Zaale 20, 5612 AJ, Eindhoven.


For further information, please contact us at



dr. Stephan van Duren 070 - 349 42 56