Innovational Research Incentives Scheme Veni, Physics

Innovational Research Incentives Scheme Veni is a grant for researchers who have recently obtained their PhD.


Veni is part of the Incentives Scheme. It allows researchers who have recently obtained their PhD to conduct independent research and develop their ideas for a period of three years.

Who can apply

Veni is targeted at outstanding researchers who have recently obtained their PhD. They are at the start of their scientific career and display a striking talent for scientific research. Veni applicants must have obtained their doctorate within the last three years. The 2017 Veni round is open to researchers who meet this criterion on 1 January 2017.

There may be a possibility of an extension in some cases. Further information is available in the document Frequently Asked Questions. Please consult the list of courses eligible for extension.

A researcher may apply for a Veni grant on a maximum of two occasions.

Researchers from outside the Netherlands may apply.

When to apply

A funding round is held every year. The deadline for submitting applications in the 2017 round was 10 January, 14:00 hrs (Central European Time).

Applications received after the deadline are automatically disqualified.


All applications are assessed in a nationwide competition.


The assessment criteria are:

  • quality of the researcher
  • quality, innovative character and academic impact of the research proposal, and
  • knowledge utilisation


Changes to Veni procedure, 2018 round

Since 1 January 2017, NWO has a new organization structure. Therefore proposals for the Talent Scheme will no longer be submitted to the former NWO divisions but to the new NWO-domains. For Veni 2017 this was already the case for the Social Sciences and Humanities Domein (SSH), the Applied and Engineering Sciences domain (TTW), and for ZonMw. In 2018 this will also be the case for the Science Domain.  A so-called “cross-domain committee” (CD) will replace the former interdivisonal (ID) committee.

Science domain

In 2018, the Science domain will adopt a new procedure for the Veni round. There will be a single submission point for the Science domain. Applications from the Earth Sciences, Astronomy, Chemistry, Computer Science, Life Sciences, Physics and Mathematics will be submitted to the Science domain.

Applications will be assessed within the domain. Applicants will use research field codes to indicate in which research field(s) their application fits best. Based on these codes NWO will allocate the applications to disciplinary clusters. Depending on the number of applications per discipline, these disciplinary clusters can be composed more broadly, in other words several neighbouring disciplines can be brought together in a single cluster.

For all disciplinary clusters, the Science domain will select committee members on the basis of research fields. The committee members will assess the applications, referee reports and rebuttals and select the most promising applications for an interview. Interviews will take place on a domain-wide basis; candidates will therefore be interviewed and assessed by committee members from their own discipline and neighbouring disciplines in the Science domain. Grants will be awarded to the Vidi candidates with the highest ranking within the Science domain, independent of the discipline.

For more information within the Science domain please contact Marieke van Santen, phone: +31 70 3494433.



Temporarily closed for application


10 January 2017 14:00

Grant type



250,000 euros per grant

Science area

Exact and Natural Sciences


Talent Scheme


Investing in talent and curiosity-driven research (2011-2014)


Ministry of Education, Culture and Science

NWO in transition: changes funding instruments

On 1 January 2017, NWO will adopt a new organisation structure. Current funding instruments will remain unchanged until a decision about any change is taken. NWO will announce this change at least six months in advance. 2017 will be a transition year and the new funding instruments will become effective no later than 1 January 2018.


Coördinator Coördinator +31 (0)70 3440707