Supervisory Board of NWO

The members of the Supervisory Board advise the Executive Board of NWO, on request or at its own initiative.

This advice covers the budget, the annual accounts, the annual report and the institutional plan. In addition, the Supervisory Board is responsible for appointing the members of the Executive Board.

Appointing members

The Minister of Education, Culture and Science and the Minister of Economic Affairs together appoint the members of the Supervisory Board of NWO.

Members Supervisory Board

Per 1 January 2019

  • With effect from 1 April 2020 D.J. (Dirk Jan) van den Berg will be chair of the Supervisory Board of NWO
  • Ing. Amandus Lundqvist (vice chair)
  • Dr Adriana Esmeijer
  • Prof. Melinda Mills
  • Willem te Beest MA
  • Prof. Simone Buitendijk

Audit committee

The audit committee provides advice on the budget, annual financial statements and annual report. The audit committee consists of two members of the Supervisory Board and an independent external member.

Read more