International cooperation

International development is a collaborative exercise

International development is by definition a collaborative exercise. WOTRO therefore works together with strategic public and private partners (both national and international) in jointly developing and funding research programmes. Besides its core funding from NWO, WOTRO manages additional funds from external partners for specific activities and programmes.

Current partners of WOTRO include the policy departments of the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs and other Dutch ministries, as well as various international scientific and development organisations. Such broader partnerships increase the effective deployment of the available funds and make it easier for researchers in developing countries to gain access to funding. Further information about working with WOTRO can be found in the brochure WOTRO – Partnerships in research for development.


Current initiatives

WOTRO participates in a range of bilateral, European and international initiatives. These contribute to the generation, dissemination and utilisation of knowledge by building bridges between science, policy and practice. Current initiatives WOTRO participates in are: