NWO-I, Institutes Organisation of NWO
NWO division

NWO-I, Institutes Organisation of NWO

On 1 January 2017, the Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter (FOM) became the Netherlands Foundation of Scientific Research Institutes (NWO-I). NWO-I, the Institutes Organisation of NWO, works closely with the NWO domains and encompasses the former FOM institutes AMOLF, ARCNL, DIFFER and Nikhef and the over 200 university workgroups from the former FOM projects.

On 1 January 2018, the other NWO institutes merged with NWO-I: ASTRON, CWI, NIOZ, NSCR and SRON. The office of NWO-I supports all institutes.

Organisation structure NWO-I

The Foundation NWO-I consists of:

  • The NWO institutes AMOLF, ARCNL, ASTRON, CWI, DIFFER, Nikhef, NIOZ, NSCR and SRON.
  • The NWO-I office in Utrecht where the supporting services provided to the institutes are coordinated.

The foundation board is responsible for the overall functioning of NWO-I. The director of the NWO-I office acts as the secretary to the foundation board. The foundation board forms a personnel union with the executive board of NWO.

The NWO institutes

The institutes jointly receive a basic grant from NWO of about 80 million euros per year. In addition they acquire funding in national and international competitions as well as via partnerships.

Personnel information and vacancies

All personnel information and vacancies for AMOLF, ARCNL, DIFFER, Nikhef and the university workgroups can be found on the NWO-I website. Vacancies at the NWO institutes ASTRON, CWI, NIOZ, NSCR and SRON can be found on their own websites.

More information