The NWO Domain Science has a Domain Board that is responsible for developing the policy. The Domain Board takes decisions about the awarding of funds.

Members are pre-eminent professors in the domain of the exact and natural sciences at Dutch universities or research institutes. The chair is a member of the NWO-wide Executive Board. This Board is a collegial board. The members jointly represent the entire scope of science.

The board of the NWO Domain Science:

  1. Prof Niek Lopes Cardozo (Eindhoven University of Technology), Chair, also member of the Executive Board
  2. Prof M.R. (Maarten) van Steen (University of Twente)
  3. Prof A. (Arjen) Doelman (Leiden University)
  4. Prof B.J. (Bas) Zwaan (Wageningen University & Research)
  5. Dr P.E. (Peter) Wierenga (former Philips)
  6. Prof I.C.W. (Ilja) Arts (Maastricht University)
  7. Prof. M. (Moniek) Tromp (University of Groningen).

The office of the NWO Domain Science realises the established policy and prepares new policy to support the Domain Board. The office is the first point of contact for researchers and connects the scientific field with NWO. It deals with funding applications, manages programmes and projects, and supports NWO steering groups and committees in the realisation of their tasks. In December 2017, the NWO Domain Science Board set up disciplinary advisory committees, the round tables, to ensure that the relationship with the entire scope of the scientific field is maintained.

The director of the NWO Domain Science office is Dr Arian Steenbruggen.

The NWO Domain Science has been operational since 1 January 2017.

Interested in joining a selection committee for the NWO Domain Science (ENW)?

NWO is always on the lookout for enthusiastic medior and senior researchers interested in joining a selection committee. These committees are essential to the proper, careful assessment of applications.

Please visit the selection committee page for more information and availability.