NWO Physics Valorisation Prize

The NWO Physics Valorisation Prize has been established to encourage knowledge utilisation from physics research. The prize is awarded to a Dutch researcher (or research group) within the field of physics who has successfully managed to make the results from his or her own research useful for society. The NWO Physics Valorisation Prize is a conferred honour and an inspiring example for others.

Presentation Valorisation Prize 2017Erwin Peterman and Gijs Wuite, winners of the NWO Physics Valorisation Prize 2018, awarded by Wim van Saarloos (vice president KNAW) during Physics@Veldhoven 2018. Credits: Bram Saeys

The winner receives a payment of 250.000 euro. Of this, 235.000 euro is intended for a new research project determined by the winner with a duration of two to four years. The other 15.000 euro can be used by the winner as he or she wishes.

Call open

The nominations for the NWO Physics Valorisation Prize could be submitted until 1 April 2018.

More information

For further information please contact Jeroen van Houwelingen, telephone +31 30 600 12 44.

Winners of the FOM Valorisation Prize are:
2018: Davide Iannuzzi
2017: Erwin Peterman en Gijs Wuite
2016: Ekkes Brück 
2015: Jo van den Brand
2014: Dave Blank en Guus Rijnders
2013: Freek Beekman
2012: Joost Frenken
2011: Pieter Kruit
2010: Fred Bijkerk 
2009: Richard van de Sanden

Prijzenposter Natuurkunde 2018


dr. Jeroen van Houwelingen dr. Jeroen van Houwelingen +31 (0)30 600 12 44 j.vanhouwelingen@nwo.nl