Composition Permanent Committee

Composition of the Permanent Committee for Large-Scale Scientific Infrastructure.

Hans van Duijn, chair


Hans van Duijn (1950) is Rector Magnificus Emeritus of the Technical University of Eindhoven ( TU/e) . He held this position from April 2005 to April 2015. Furthermore, he is a professor at the TU/e and at the University of Utrecht . He is a member of the Supervisory Board of Erasmus University Rotterdam, chairman of the board J.M. Citizens Centre for fluid dynamics and scientific director of the UU TU/e Darcy Center .

He studied Applied Physics at the former Technical University of Eindhoven and in 1979 obtained his doctorate in mathematics at the University of Leiden. He worked at the Technical University Delft (TUD ) as (senior) lecturer and later as part-time professor, combined with a position at the Center for Mathematics and Computer Science in Amsterdam. In 2000 he was appointed Professor of Applied Analysis at TU/e . In 1996, he received the Master Award from the TUD and in 1998, the German government's Max Planck Award.

Committee Members

Humanities/Social sciences (3 members)

Ans van Kemenade, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Ans van Kemenade (1954) is Professor of English Linguistics at Radboud University Nijmegen. Her research interests include grammatical variation and historical changes within the West-Germanic languages. Van Kemenade has considerable executive experience, including a period on the NWO Humanities Divisional Board where she was responsible for the infrastructure portfolio. Van Kemenade was recently research director and vice-dean research at Radboud University Nijmegen.

Kees Aarts, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Kees Aarts (1959) is Professor of Political Science, specialising in comparative electoral behaviour, at the University of Twente. He does a lot of research into how democracies function, elections and electoral behaviour, both in the Netherlands and from an international comparative perspective. Aarts is also the scientific director of the Institute for Innovation and Governance Studies. Furthermore, he is a member of the Committee Large-Scale Research Facilities of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). 

Sally Wyatt, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Sally Wyatt (1959) is Professor of Digital Cultures in Development at Maastricht University. She does a lot of research into the social aspects of digital technology, including how people use the Internet to find health information. Wyatt is also programme leader of the de eHumanities group of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and director of the research school Science, Technology and Modern Culture (WTMC). 

Medical/Life Sciences (3 members)

Folkert Kuipers, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Folkert Kuipers (1957) is Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Groningen. He is specialised in the physiology and pathophysiology of the liver and intestines in congenital and developmental metabolic diseases in children. Since 2008 Kuipers has been dean of the Medical Faculty of the University of Groningen/University of Groningen Medical Center. He is also vice president of the Board of Directors of University Medical Center Groningen.

Titia Sixma, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Titia Sixma (1962) is Professor by Special Appointment of Structural Biology at Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam. She is also Head of the Biochemistry Section at the Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI). Sixma does research into protein signal transduction and DNA damage recovery in cancer. She is also a member of the boards of the Dutch Association for Crystallography and member of the Committee for Biochemistry and Biophysics of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). 

Iris Sommer, committee member Humanities/Social sciences

Iris Sommer (1970) is Professor of Psychiatry at Utrecht University. She does research into brain processes that lie at the basis of hallucinations and other symptoms of schizophrenia, including hearing voices in the head. Sommer is a member of De Jonge Akademie. She is also, amongst other things, a member of the Committee for Large-Scale Research Facilities of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and the Netherlands Board on Research Integrity (LOWI).

Exact Sciences (2 members)

Frank Linde, committee member Exact Sciences

Frank Linde (1961) is Professor of Experimental High-Energy Physics at the University of Amsterdam. He mainly does research into neutrinos and other cosmic particles. Until 2014, Linde was director of the National Institute for Subatomic Physics (NIKHEF). For the next two years he is chair of APPEC Astroparticle Physics. Linde has extensive experience with large scientific infrastructures.

Ewine van Dishoeck, committee member Exact Sciences

Ewine van Dishoeck (1955) is Professor of Astronomy at Leiden University. Her specialisation is molecular astrophysics, especially the chemical processes that occur n clouds where new stars and planets are born. She was closely involved in the creation of several large telescopes, in space and on earth. Van Dishoek is chair of the Committee for Large-Scale Research Infrastructures of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). Furthermore, she is a member of the KNAW, a foreign member of the American National Academy of Sciences and a member of the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina. Van Dishoeck received the NWO Spinoza Prize and the Academy Professor Prize.

Engineering and Applied Sciences (3 members)

Gerard Beenker, committee member Engineering and Applied Sciences

Gerard Beenker (1954) was until 2014 scientific director of NXP Semiconductors, the former semiconductor division of Philips. He is currently employed at Eindhoven University of Technology as advisor strategic partnerships in the area of the development of high-tech systems. He has been active in various committees and boards: for the roadmap Components and Circuits in the top sector High Tech (HTSM), he was a member of the technology and innovation committee of the employers' organization VNO-NCW and member of the board of STW .

Jan Willem Kelder, committee member Engineering and Applied Sciences

Jan Willem Kelder (1949) is vice admiral and former Commander of the Dutch Navy. After retiring he was amongst other things a member of the Board of Management of TNO, where he was responsible for the portfolio research infrastructure. He is also president commissioner of the Dutch Metrology Institute and a member of the board of Netherlands Defence Manufacturers Association.

Andrzej Stankiewicz, committee member Engineering and Applied Sciences

Andrzej Stankiewicz (1954) is Professor of Process Intensification at Delft University of Technology and director of the Institute of Process Technology of Delft University of Technology. Stankiewicz does a wide range of research into sustainable and efficient industrial processes and devices. He was the founder and first chair of the workgroup Process Intensification at the European Process Intensification Centre. Stankiewicz is closely involved with DSM where he was a scientific officer until 2007.

See also