Spinoza Prize

Spinoza Prize

The NWO Spinoza Prize is the highest Dutch award in science. NWO awards the prize to Dutch researchers who rank among the absolute top of science. NWO awards the NWO Spinoza Prizes each year to researchers working in the Netherlands and who according to international standards belong to the absolute top of science. The NWO Spinoza Laureates perform outstanding and ground-breaking research, which has a large impact. They inspire young researchers. They receive 2.5 million euro each for scientific research.

The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research is most honoured and pleased to announce that His Majesty King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands will be present at the twentieth occasion on which the NWO Spinoza Prizes are awarded. The festive award ceremony will take place on 9 September 2014 in the Nieuwe Kerk in The Hague. During the ceremony the laureates will present their research and their plans for the prize money.

NWO-Spinoza Prize Laureates 2014

Professor D. (Dirk) Bouwmeester (1967) is Professor of Physics at Leiden University and is also a professor at the University of California in Santa Barbara

Professor C.L. (Corinne) Hofman (1959) is Professor of Caribbean Archaeology at Leiden University

Professor M.C.M. (Mark) van Loosdrecht (1959) is Professor of Environmental Technology at Delft University of Technology

Professor T. (Theunis) Piersma (1958) is Professor of Global Flyway Ecology at the University of Groningen and is Wadden Sea biologist at the Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ)

More information

Funding instrument for this programme

All grants for NWO Spinoza Prize